Learn about the technologies behind the Internet with The TCP/IP Guide!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.
View over 750 of my fine art photos any time for free at DesktopScenes.com!

[ The PC Guide | Systems and Components Reference Guide | Hard Disk Drives | Hard Disk Performance, Quality and Reliability | Redundant Arrays of Inexpensive Disks (RAID) | RAID Levels ]

Single RAID Levels

In this section I take a look at the "single" RAID levels--meaning, the "regular" RAID levels, as opposed to multiple or nested RAID levels. Single RAID levels are by far the most commonly used since they are simpler and less expensive to implement, and satisfy the needs of most RAID users. Generally, only very high-end or specialty applications require the use of multiple RAID levels.

There are eight "regular" RAID levels, which are used to varying degrees in the "real world" today. A few levels, especially RAID 0, RAID 1 and RAID 5, are extremely popular, while a couple are rarely if ever seen in modern systems. For each level, I provide a comprehensive discussion of its attributes and characteristics in the areas of capacity, performance, fault tolerance, cost and more.

Note:  For an explanation of any of the categories used in describing the RAID levels, see the section discussing technical factors differentiating RAID levels.

Next: RAID Level 0

Home  -  Search  -  Topics  -  Up

The PC Guide (http://www.PCGuide.com)
Site Version: 2.2.0 - Version Date: April 17, 2001
Copyright 1997-2004 Charles M. Kozierok. All Rights Reserved.

Not responsible for any loss resulting from the use of this site.
Please read the Site Guide before using this material.
Custom Search