Learn about the technologies behind the Internet with The TCP/IP Guide!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.
View over 750 of my fine art photos any time for free at DesktopScenes.com!

[ The PC Guide | Systems and Components Reference Guide | Motherboard and System Devices | System Cache | Cache Transfer Technologies and Timing ]

Cache Bursting

In a typical level 2 cache each cache line contains 32 bytes, and transfers to and from the cache occur 32 bytes (256 bits) at a time. The normal transfer paths (for a fifth- or sixth-generation machine) are only 64 bits wide, which means four transfers are done in sequence. Because the transfers are from consecutive memory locations there is no need to specify a different address after the first one; this makes the second, third and fourth accesses extremely fast.

This high-performance access is called "bursting" or using the cache in "burst mode". All modern level 2 caches use this type of access. The timing, in clock cycles, to perform this quadruple read is normally stated as "x-y-y-y". For example, with ‘3-1-1-1" timing the first read takes 3 clock cycles and the next three take 1 each, for a total of 6. Obviously, the lower these numbers, the better.

Note: This is almost identical to the way burst transfers are done to and from memory in modern systems, except faster.

Next: Asynchronous Cache

Home  -  Search  -  Topics  -  Up

The PC Guide (http://www.PCGuide.com)
Site Version: 2.2.0 - Version Date: April 17, 2001
Copyright 1997-2004 Charles M. Kozierok. All Rights Reserved.

Not responsible for any loss resulting from the use of this site.
Please read the Site Guide before using this material.
Custom Search